How long does consent last?
Patients may select:
- No expiration date, or
- A specific expiration period
Consent remains in effect until it expires or is revoked.
Patients may select:
Consent remains in effect until it expires or is revoked.
Yes. Patients may revise or revoke their consent at any time.
When revoked, the HIE immediately stops sharing the SUD/MH data going forward. However, previously shared data cannot be retrieved.
Users with appropriate permissions can access the tool through:
Any member of a patient’s care team may register consent, including:
Consent can be registered:
Patients may choose what level of information to share, including:
All shared data is accompanied by a Part 2 warning indicating it may not be redisclosed except as permitted by law.
The Consent Tool is a consent management application used to register patient consent for sharing specific protected data types — most notably Substance Use Disorder (SUD) and Mental Health (MH) information which is protected under 42 CFR Part 2. With documented patient consent, this sensitive behavioral health data can be shared with members of the patient’s extended care team through the HIE.
While participation in the HIE is generally on an optout basis for most clinical data, SUD/MH information is treated differently and sharing of this data requires affirmative, explicit patient consent.
The Consent Tool: